Caribbean islands included in French State Of Emergency

November 20, 2015

French Caribbean islands have been included in the state of emergency declared in France by President Francois Hollande following the terrorist  attacks in Paris.

The islands which are overseas territories of France are Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Mayotte, Reunion Island, and St Martin and St Barths.

Hollande declared the state of emergency last weekend after the terrorist group, the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS), claimed responsibility for the Friday night attacks that killed more than 129 people and injured in excess of 350 others.

According to the Ministry of Overseas Territories, the decision to include the Caribbean countries was justified by the necessity to reinforce security in all territories during the state of emergency that has since been extended by three months.


Other News Stories