Gov't lifts Ebola travel ban


January 08, 2016

The Government has lifted with immediate effect, the ban on persons entering Jamaica from countries affected by Ebola.

The Cabinet made the decision following recent indications from the World Health Organisation (WHO) about the reduction of cases worldwide, especially in countries that were directly affected by the virus.

In October 2014, the Jamaican Government instituted the ban on persons ordinarily resident in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, as well as persons who had travelled to or transited through Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, within 28 days of having departed from these countries.

However, the WHO says the criteria it established to declare the end of any known transmission of the Ebola virus have been met.

As a result, the WHO has declared an end to the outbreak in the three key countries where the virus had been most prevalent - Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea.

The National Security Ministry says the Passport Immigration and Citizenship Agency in collaboration with the Health Ministry will continue to monitor Jamaica's ports of entry to safeguard the health of the country.

Other News Stories