PNP big four says no to Portia

March 18, 2016

Four of the most seasoned members of the People’s National Party (PNP) have declined offers to be named as spokespersons.
Dr. Omar Davies, Robert Pickersgill Derrick Kellier and Fitz Jackson have all asked not to be considered, the party said.

Davies, the former transport minister, party chairman Pickersgill and former agriculture minister Kellier said they would be playing a mentoring role.

Jackson, who led Peter Phillips' failed 2008 campaign to unseat Portia Simpson Miller as PNP president, has said he would rather concentrate on being a Member of Parliament.

The spokespersons’ list is made up exclusively of parliamentarians, which means there is no place for Damion Crawford and Raymond Pryce.

Senators Lambert Brown (Public Service and Public Sector Modernization) and Sophia Frazer-Binns (Land and the Environment) have been given spokespersons’ responsibility.

Leader of the Opposition- Defence,  Social Transformation, Community Development and Gender Affairs -Portia Simpson-Miller Colin Fagan
Finance and Planning- Dr. Peter Phillips 
Public Service and Public Sector Modernization -Senator Lambert Brown 
Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade -Dr. Morais Guy 
National Security -Peter Bunting 
Energy and Mining (and Leader of Opposition Business in the House of Representatives) -Phillip Paulwell 
Industry, Investment and Commerce -Anthony Hylton 
Justice and Governance- (and Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate) Senator Mark Golding 
Education and Training- Ronald Thwaites Michael Stewart
Tourism -Dr. Wykeham McNeil 
Health -Horace Dalley Dr. Lynvale Bloomfield
Information and the Knowledge Economy -Julian Robinson Dwayne Vaz
Land and the Environment -Senator Sophia Frazer-Binns 
Agriculture- Dr. Dayton Campbell Victor Wright
Transport Mikael -Phillips 
Works Richard Azan -Dr. Winston Green
Housing and Rural Development -Luther Buchanan 
Labour and Social Security -Dr. Fenton Ferguson Senator Floyd Morris
Youth and Culture -Lisa Hanna 
Sport and Entertainment -Natalie Neita 
Local Government Noel-Arscott Denise Daley
Water and Climate Change Ian- Hayles Evon Redman

Other News Stories