Frater appointed to IAAF Athletes' Commission


November 27, 2015

Jamaica's Michael Frater was one of six members of the International Association of Athletics Federations Athletes' Commission appointed by IAAF Council.

Frater as well as Fabiana Murer (Brazil), Paula Radcliffe (Great Britain), Alina Talay (Belarus), Ashton Eaton (USA), and Ezekiel Kemboi (Kenya) were appointed for the 2016-2019 period. A new chairperson will be decided by the commission when they hold their next meeting in January/February 2016.

Frank Fredericks, the out-going chairperson, will continue in an honorary capacity to assist the commission during the transition and in their general contact with the IAAF Council.

The IAAF Athletes' Commission is made up of 18 members, 12 of whom are elected by their peers, and six appointed by the IAAF. The mandate structure of the commission is as follows:

n Six, confirmed for a four-year mandate during the Moscow 2013 IAAF World Championships, whose mandate ends on 31 December 2017;

n Six members (including the Chairperson) have been appointed by the IAAF in November 2011 and nominees shall be appointed on the commission again in November 2015;

n Six, elected during the Daegu 2011 IAAF World Championships, whose mandate shall end on 31 December 2015.

Frater took silver in the 100m at the 2005 IAAF World Championships in Helsinki. After finishing sixth in that event at the 2008 Olympics, he formed part of the victorious Jamaican 4x100m team, setting a world record of 37.10.

Frater also won 4x100m gold medals at the 2009 and 2011 World Championships and the 2012 Olympics, setting two more world records in the process.

Other Sports Stories