Jamaican teams dominate Florida netball tourney


November 27, 2015
Kameika Sherwood (right) of Scotia A accepts the most valuable player of the tournament award from Lavern Deer, president of Jamaica High School Alumni Sporting Network
Omar Mattis of Greenelight Energy Drink(centre) presents the sponso's trophy for Florida Netball Classics to Naudia Brown, captain of Scotiabank A.
Marsha Murphy Dawkins (centre) of Scotia A shoots ahead of Natalie Cousins (left) and Dahlia McArthur of Caricom during the Florida Netball Classicas finals. Contributed

JAMAICAN teams dominated the 2015 Florida Netball Association Classics Tournament. Defending champions Scotiabank A continued on their winning ways by capturing the 2015 crown after defeating Caricom of Florida Netball Team 18-10.

The Caricom NC team consisted of the Measha Reid-Brown, Natalie Cousins and Monique Smith formerly of Jamalco, Sasha Graham of GC Foster and Natasha White.

Caricom defeated Scotiabank B 14-7 in their semi final match.

The champions went unscathed through the FNA Classics en route to their sixth lien on the coveted title.

The champions won in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2012 & 2014. Caricom stopped Scotiabank B 14-7 in their semi-final, while Scotiabank A got past Rollington Town All Stars 16-5.

The All Stars team featured former national players Nadine, Jodi Ann and Sade Ffrench, Georgia Hibbert and Camille Henry.

Captain Naudia Brown was ecstatic in the victory and praised her team and coaching staff, and management team for their successes.

In other Championship matches, ICD won the Mixed Championship with 13 points over Boulevard Baptist, 11 points with Jetz Stars placing third with eight points.

Twenty four teams participated with 16 coming from Jamaica.

FLOW won the Top Shooting Team Competition. Alliance of Florida won the dress parade for the second straight year with NCB placing second and Scotiabank third.

Defender Kameika Sherwood of Scotiabank A was voted the tournament's most valuable player.

Scotiabank took home the 2015 FNA Classics Trophy & US $1000 prize money.

Other Sports Stories