Under 20 Boyz open CFU campaign

June 15, 2016
Members of the Under 20 football team during a training session in Kingston recently. Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Jamaica will face-off against Dominica in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Men's Under-20 Championship Group Four at the Felix Sanchez Olympic Stadium in the Dominican Republic today, starting at 2 p.m.

In the group's other game, host Dominican Republic challenge St Kitts & Nevis, at 4 p.m.

A total of 16 teams will compete in the CFU group stage and at the completion, the winners of each group, the best three second place teams, alongside host Curacao will advance to the Final Round, scheduled on October 21-26.

Then, the top eight Caribbean countries will be divided into two groups of four teams each, where the top five will represent the region in the Confederation of North Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) tournament scheduled from February 17 to March 5, 2017 in Costa Rica.

The CFU five representative will join four teams from the Central American Football Union and three from North America in the CONCACAF stage.

At the completion, the top four teams from the CONCACAF will book spots in the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Korea Republic from May 20 to June 11, 2017.

Jamaica's assistant coach Altimont Butler admitted that the coaching staff knows nothing about Dominica and the other teams in the group.

"We don't know anything about the opponent, so we will focus on our game and see what Dominica has to offer," Butler said.

"Our aim is to qualifier for the Under-20 World Cup, so we will take it stage by stage," he added.

Jamaica delegation is: Everton Tomlinson (head); Ricardo Gardner (coach); Altimont Butler (assistant coach); Howard Bell (manager); Dr Bersha Cole (team doctor); Lamar Morgan (trainer); and Omar Folkes (equipment manager).

The full squad reads: Jahmali Waite, Akeem Chambers, Ajanie Talbott, Maliek Howell, Neville Morgan, Jahlanie Hammond, Fabian Grant, Jahwanni Hinds, Dashane Beckford, Jon Luca Levee, Kevon Lambert, Peter-Lee Vassell, Shamar Nicholson, Tyreek Magee, Nathanie Adamolukan, Akeem Prawl, Joseph Dezart, Ky-Mani Campbell, Jourdain Fletcher and Rashwan Dally.

Other Sports Stories