Marverley/Hughenden feted at KSAFA awards ceremony

July 08, 2016
Phillip Peddie

Maverley-Hughenden FC, the newly crowned Charley's JB Rum/KSAFA Super League champions, were out in their colours to collect their title, and other category prizes as toasts of Wednesday night's Kingston and St Andrew Football Association (KSAFA) awards ceremony at Wray & Nephew's head office in New Kingston.

The St Andrew team, now promoted to the Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL), topped this year's competition with a l-0 defeat of Barbican FC.

Main awards went to Maverley-Hughenden's Phillip Peddie, top scorer and MVP with 13 goals, while Manager of the Year was Craig Walters. Maverley were also Zone A winners, while Fair Play awards went to Barbican FC and Real Mona FC.

Maverley/Hughenden FC will now turn their attention to the upcoming' RSPL contest.

Coach Lijyasu Simms, whose exploits won him Super League Coach of the year, believes his team will be ready.

"We know we have the work ahead of us, we are here getting ready to do the work. We know what it takes to be there, and to maintain a level of the premier league, so when we resume training we know the stages that we will have to take, and we are ready for the task at hand," Simms told STAR Sports.


The Super League champions won $300,000.00. Runners-up Barbican FC won $250,000, Rockfort FC, $200,000, and fourth-place Brown's Town FC, $150,000.

Meanwhile, central Kingston FC won the Major League with a similar scoreline, overcoming JDF FC in the final.

Other awards went to leading goalscorer Ramone Rose of Molynes United with 15 goals, while Stony Hill FC and Pembroke Hall FC took the Fair Play awards.

Central Kingston's Ronaldo Henry was voted Mosy Valuable Player, and Keeble Allen, Manager of the Year, while Vincent Watson was Coach of the Year.

A total of 28 clubs participated in both competitions, 12 in the Super League and 15 in Major League.

Other Sports Stories