Promoted teams bolster squads in RSPL transfer window

September 02, 2016
Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer Barbican's Akeem Brown (left) goes into a challenge with Arnett Garden's Renae Lloyd in their Red Stripe Premier League encounter at the Barbican field on January 1 2015. Brown has transfered to newcomers Marveryley/Hughenden for the upcoming season.

With the 2016-17 Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL) season scheduled to kick off on Sunday, promoted teams Jamalco FC and Maverley/Hughenden FC were among the busiest clubs during the first transfer window that closed last week Friday.
Jamalco, who topped the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF)/JB Charley Rum play-off series have acquired the most players, with 18 new players now on the Clarendon’s club list in their debut RSPL season.
The players with Premier League experience who opted to move to Jamalco include Tyrone Buddah, Shavor Campbell, Rannaldo Christian and Trevol Smith all coming from Humble Lion, as well as Odean Clarke (Cavalier SC), Sean Coleman (Waterhouse), Andre Dawson (Cavalier), Roshane Sharpe (Reno) and Levar Williams (Rivoli United).
The other players are coming from clubs of lower divisions.
Maverley/Hughenden gained promotion for the first time since 1992 and will be looking to be competitive with the inclusion of 12 new players in the squad.

Escaped relegation

They have the signatures of players such as Raymond Williamson, Liston James, Troy Moulton, Nicholas Scott and Jovell Plunkett all from relegated Rivoli United FC, as well as Jamoy Sibbles (Tivoli Gardens FC), Rodico Wellington (Tivoli), Robert Williams (Tivoli), Akeem Brown (Barbican), Shamar Brown (Boys’ Town) and Nicholas Campbell (Barbican).
Waterhouse FC, who narrowly escaped relegation on the final match day last season signed 15 new players. However, only Lenworth Pine from Rivoli United played in the RSPL last season. The other players are coming from clubs that participated in lower divisions.
Reigning champions, Montego Bay FC have boosted their squad with players such as Al Nesbeth (Cavalier), Jason Watson (Cavalier), Derron McLeod (Sporting Central FC), Otis Friend (Sporting Central), Cavaughn Smith (Reggae Youths FC) and Ramone Sibley (Reggae Youths).
Last season’s beaten RSPL finalist, Portmore United FC, have acquired the service of only one player in Shawayne Nelson of Sporting Central FC.
Arnett Gardens FC’s new players are Jefferey Grant (Cavalier), Delanta Pottinger (Rockfort FC), Davion Bell (Watson Grove FC), Carlloyd Walters (Cavalier), and Shawn McKoy (Tivoli Gardens).
Humble Lion, who finished fourth last season have improved their team with players such as former national defender Hughan Gray from Waterhouse, plus Ricardo Dennis (Portmore United), Cornell Robinson (Sporting Central), Rafeik Thomas (Boys’ Town), Dwayne Holmes (MoBay United), Leon Irving (Tomorrow People FC), and Gary McIntosh (Arnett).
Former champions Harbour View FC have gone overseas for two brothers in Le-Rhone and Le-Shaun Young both of Durham United FC of Canada, as well as five other local players.
The University of the West Indies FC have included only two new players, while Tivoli Gardens are boosted with eight, Reno with four, and Boys’ Town with three new players for the new season.




Other Sports Stories