Matherson among six nominees for Courtney Walsh student award

October 10, 2016
Satanya Wright
Jhevaughn Matherson
Aiko Jones
Susan Douglas

Six secondary-school athletes have been shortlisted to receive Awards under the umbrella of the prestigious Courtney Walsh Award for Excellence set for The Jamaica Pegasus hotel on Thursday, starting with cocktails at 6:30 p.m. and the ceremony at 7 p.m.

This year's nominees are Jhevaugh Matherson of Kingston College; Travis Brown and Kyle Martin, both of Wolmer's Boys' School in the male category. In the female category are Aiko Jones of Wolmer's Girls' School; Susan Douglas of The Queen's School and Satanya Wright of St. Elizabeth Technical High School.




Since 2013, the Culture, Health, Arts, Sports and Education Fund, administrators of the Courtney Walsh Award for Excellence in sports, has been collaborating with principals in schools at the secondary level across the island, to nominate female and male students to be recognised at the prestigious annual event. To receive this award, students must have displayed exceptional qualities in their academic performance and demonstrated team commitment and good tenets of fair play while representing their schools in sports.

Past awardees are Mark Parchment of Munro College and Janell Dalberry of St Jago High School; Natalliah Whyte of St Jago High School; Jaheel Hyde of Wolmer's Boys' School; Junelle Bromfield from St Elizabeth Technical High School, and Javauni Garwood of Wolmer's Boys' School.

Other Sports Stories