More than $3m for finals of 2017 IAAF Diamond League

December 08, 2016
Elaine Thompson of Jamaica (centre), wins the women's 100m ahead of Dafne Schippers of the Netherlands, (left), and Carina Horn of South Africa at the Diamond League Memorial Van Damme athletics event, at the King Baudouin stadium in Brussels on Friday, September 9. (AP Photo)

In a major restructure, the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Diamond League has adopted a championship style model with the finalists competing for a prize pool of $3.2 million.

From next season, athletes will earn points in the first 12 IAAF Diamond League meetings to qualify for two final meetings, where $100,000 will be at stake in each of the 32 Diamond Disciplines, including $50,000 for each winner.

In previous seasons, athletes accumulated points throughout the IAAF Diamond League season, with the overall winner of each of the 32 events being the athlete with the most points, irrespective of whether they won the final.

The season is now a race to reach the finals, with the winners crowned as IAAF Diamond League Champions. As in a championship, the performance of athletes in the final alone will determine who the champion will be and the prize money won.

The IAAF Diamond League finals will now offer a dramatic showdown between the world's best athletes, a true climax to a four-month race across four continents.

Sebastian Coe, IAAF President and chairman of the Diamond League AG, commented: "After seven seasons which have established the IAAF Diamond League as our premier circuit, it is important to assess its impact and build for the future. These decisions are the first step to growing the attractiveness of the series."

In the horizontal jumping and throwing events, there will be a return in 2017 to six attempts for all athletes. This follows last season's experimental format, where all athletes were given three attempts but with only the top four athletes being given three further attempts.

FINALS Prize money structure for each of the 32 events

First $50,000

Second $20,000

Third $10,000

Fourth $6000

Fifth $5000

Sixth $4000

Seventh $3000

Eighth $2000

Other Sports Stories