Warsop crowned Colin Gager Community champions

January 18, 2017
Members of the Champion team Warsop pose following their 5-0 win over Crown Land. Contributed

Warsop were crowned champions of the Colin Gager Divisional Community Football League following the finals on Sunday in Trelawny.

In the final, Warsop defeated Crown Land 5-0 with a double strike from Kenard Wilson and Marlon Clark, and one goal from Conrod Lawrence.

Warsop received $50,000 and the Colin Gager Divisional Community League trophy, while second-place Crown Land from Wilson Run received $30,000 and a trophy.

New Hope, who finished third, won $20,000 and third-place trophy.

The competition involved teams from the Warsop division in Trelawny Southern.

Competition sponsor and mayor of Falmouth, Councillor Colin Gager, said that one of the objectives of the competition was to foster and encourage fellowship among residents in the communities and districts that make up his division.

Other Sports Stories