Zouks rebranded St Lucia Stars for new campaign

March 08, 2017
Zouks players Gidron Pope (left), Shane Watson (centre) and Delorn Johnson celebrate the wicket of Kumar Sangakkara during Match 30 of the Hero Caribbean Premier League match between Jamaica Tallawahs v St Lucia Zouks at Central Broward Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida, last season.



St Lucia Zouks have undergone a name change for the upcoming Caribbean Premier League season, with the franchise now rebranded St Lucia Stars.

Franchise owner Jay Pandya, whose Philadelphia-based Royal Sports Club purchased the Castries-based outfit last October, said the new name would reflect all the characteristics of the idyllic Caribbean country.

"We wanted the identity to represent St Lucia and anyone who supports the team associates with the traits of being St Lucian," Pandya said." When we were making the decision to bring this change and we were looking for inspiration, we just had to look within and bring out the spirit of St Lucia. They are stars in every might and proud to be Born Lucians."


Bold and vibrant identity


The new logo of the franchise has been designed to reflect "a new bold and vibrant identity", and is comprised of three different elements - the iconic Piton mountains, the colours of the St Lucia flag, and the cheer of the St Lucian people.

Captain Darren Sammy said St Lucia Stars would be aiming in the upcoming season to reflect all the changes embodied in the franchise name.

"We definitely want to live up to what the logo represents and play like stars as we look to win the CPL this season," the former West Indies captain said.

"Hopefully, this change will bring in good luck for us. To be "Born Lucian" means we take pride in what we do and we do it wholeheartedly. And we want this to resonate with our fans and make them feel proud."

Zouks had one of their best seasons last year when they reached the play-offs for the first time in the four-year history of the competition.

They managed to attract the likes of Australians Mike Hussey and Shane Watson, along with South Africa David Miller, and proved one of the more entertaining sides.

The competition this year runs from August 1 to September 9.

Other Sports Stories