Unchanged Windies squad for second Test

April 29, 2017
Babar Azam attempts to play a scoop shot off the bowling of Devendra Bishoo which turned sharply and was caught a first slip by Keiron Powell on the third day of the first Test match between the West Indies and Pakistan at Sabina Park on Sunday. Wicketkeeper Shane Dowrich looks on.


West Indies selectors have retained faith in the same 13-man squad for the second Test against Pakistan starting here tomorrow, despite their drubbing in the opening match in Kingston.

The Caribbean side under-performed with the bat to plunge to a seven-wicket defeat, 20 minutes after lunch on last Monday's final day at Sabina Park.

West Indies entered the contest with a greenhorn batting line-up which included Vishual Singh and Shimron Hetmyer on debut but selectors have opted against changes and will enter the critical game at Kensington Oval with the same squad.

Vishual and Hetmyer failed in both innings along with Shai Hope and usually dependable opener Kraigg Brathwaite but rookies Roston Chase and Shane Dowrich both managed half-centuries.

Another defeat for West Indies in the upcoming match will hand Pakistan their first-ever Test series win in the Caribbean.

West Indies arrived here late Wednesday and trained on Thursday and yesterday, as head coach Stuart Law brushed up on final preparations for the game.

The hosts won their last Test at the venue two years ago when they defeated England by five wickets inside three days.

SQUAD - Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Vishual Singh, Shane Dowrich, Shai Hope, Jermaine Blackwood, Shannon Gabriel, Devendra Bishoo, Alzarri Joseph, Miguel Cummins.

Other Sports Stories