Copperwood make winning start in masters league

May 09, 2017

Defending champions Copperwood Masters started the defence of their Keith Thorpe/Michael Thorpe Western Masters Football League on Sunday with a 2-0 win over Violet Kickers Masters in the feature game of Sunday's season-opening double-header at the UDC playing field in Montego Bay.

Odari Kerr was the undisputed star for the Copper-wood Masters, scoring both goals - one in each half of the game.

In the opening game, last year's beaten finalist Salt Spring Masters showed up in spanking form, blanking Advent Masters 2-0. Kevin Nedrick and Keith Sterling were the goalscorers.

The competition, which is in its 25th year, will see the winning team taking home the Steve Bucknor Trophy.

Zone A teams are Copperwood Masters, Violet Tourers, Faithful Masters, Cambridge Masters and Pitfour Masters.

Zone B the teams are Salt Spring Masters, Advent Masters, Hornets, Unity Masters and Challengers.

Other Sports Stories