Scorpions battle Jaguars in Regional 4-Day cricket

October 26, 2017


Three-time reigning champions, Guyana Jaguars, will host Jamaica Scorpions in Georgetown on the opening day of the new regional four-day season starting today at the Guyana National Stadium at 8:30 a.m. Jamaica time.

With both the West Indies Test and A sides on duty, several teams in the competition, including the Jaguars and Scorpions, will be missing their stars, opening up the opportunity for several players to make their mark.

Jaguars Captain Leon Johnson said much would depend on the seasoned players in the squad to prove their value.

"The players in the squad with the experience will have to step up and do well, not only in this game, but throughout the competition, but I am looking at it in a positive way - this is an opportunity for the inexperienced players," Johnson said.

Scorpions have been robbed of champion left-arm spinner and captain Nikita Miller due to injury, while Chadwick Walton has overseas commitments, and John Campbell, Andre McCarthy, Reynard Leveridge and Oshane Thomas, are all tied up with Windies A.

Batsman Paul Palmer, who will skipper the side, said the focus would be on making the most of the players who are available.

"There is no way to replace a player like Nikita Miller. He's the kind of player that you cannot replace overnight because he has done a lot and bowled us to victory many times previously," he explained.

"We, however, have to remain positive about what is before us and try not to focus his absence or the absence of other players. We still have a game to play and we will have to use our resources well to get the outcome we want."


JAGUARS: Leon Johnson (captain), Anthony Adams, Anthony Bramble, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Rajendra Chandrika, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Veerasammy Permaul, Akshaya Persaud, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd and Bashkar Yadram.

SCORPIONS: Paul Palmer (captain), Fabian Allen, Dennis Bulli, Jason Dawes, Assad Fudadin, Garth Garvey, Derval Green, Trevon Griffith, Paul Harrison, Brandon King, Romaine Morris, Damani Sewell and Keno Wallace.

Other Sports Stories