Proteas Women name team for Windies tour

August 17, 2018
South Africa Women's player Mignon du Preez is taunted by Windies Women's Shanel Daley (on ground) during a recent game between the two teams. Du Preez has been named in the Proteas Women's squad for the upcoming tour of the Caribbean.

CAPE TOWN, South Africa (CMC):

Three new faces will be in South Africa's women's team when they tour the Caribbean next month from September 10 to October 6, 2018.

Powerade National Academy graduates Tumi Sekhukhune, Saarah Smith and Robin Searle will embark on their first international tour when the Proteas take on the Windies in a three-match One-Day International (ODI) and five-match T20 International series in Barbados and Trinidad.

The trio was selected at the conclusion of the third annual CSA North vs South competition in Pretoria, where 26 of the country's most promising cricketers were assembled for a gruelling three days of competitive T20s.

Their selections also follows the Proteas' recent disappointing tour of England, where they lost the ODI series 3-1 and also performed poorly in the T20 triangular series that included New Zealand.

Ayabonga Khaka has been ruled out of the tour after undergoing shoulder surgery. She will be out for four to six weeks as she targets a return to action in the World T20. Other team movements see the return of veteran wicket-keeper Trisha Chetty.

Speaking on the new squad, National Convenor of Selectors Clinton du Preez said he was pleased with the balance of the team.

"As a selection panel, we conducted a debrief from the England tour and also the successful Bangladesh tour prior to that. We discovered that there were a few areas where the team was falling short, and we realised we had to look at different options and different types of skill sets to try and set ourselves up well for the West Indies tour, with the World Cup not far behind after that," Du Preez said.


Tour Schedule


Sunday, September 16: 1st IWC ODI - Kensington Oval

Wednesday, September 19: 2nd IWC ODI - Kensington Oval

Saturday, September 22: 3rd IWC ODI - Kensington Oval

Monday, September 24: 1st T20I - Kensington Oval

Friday, September 28: 2nd T20I - Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Sunday, September 30: 3rd T20I - Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Wednesday, October 3: 4th T20I - Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Saturday, October 6: 5th T20I - Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Other Sports Stories