Formula One's 21-race calendar is approved

December 06, 2018
Ferrari driver Kimi Raikkonen of Finland leads at the start and followed by Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel of Germany during the Formula One Italy Grand Prix at the Monza racetrack, in Monza, Italy on Sunday, September 2, 2018. Next year's staging of the Italy Grand Prix will take place on Sunday, September 8, 2019.


Formula One's 21-race calendar for 2019 has been approved, with Melbourne, as usual, hosting the season-opening Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park on March 17.

Governing body FIA said after a meeting of its World Motor Sport Council in St Petersburg yesterday that 11 races would be held in Europe, five in Asia, four in the Americas, and one in Australia.

The season will start one week earlier and finish one week later.

FIA said the cars would be heavier with a weight limit increase from 740 kilograms to 743 and that fuel-handling procedures during testing are to be the same as during racing.

There will also be more clarity on how grid positions are formed when drivers are hit with multiple engine penalties. Typically, drivers who have made several unauthorised engine-part changes are hit with a penalty of 20-25 places which sends them to the back of the grid.

But it can be confusing to understand who is starting from where and from how far back if several of the 20 drivers have the same penalty imposed.


March 17: Australia, Melbourne

March 31: Bahrain, Sakhir

April 14: China, Shanghai

April 28: Azerbaijan, Baku

May 12: Spain, Barcelona

May 26: Monaco

June 9: Canada, Montreal

June 23: France, Le Castellet

June 30: Austria, Spielberg

July 14: Britain, Silverstone

July 28: Germany, Hockenheim

Aug 4: Hungary, Budapest

Sept 1: Belgium, Spa

Sept 8: Italy, Monza

Sept 22: Singapore

Sept 29: Russia, Sochi

Oct 13: Japan, Suzuka

Oct 27: Mexico, Mexico City

Nov 3: United States, Austin

Nov 17: Brazil, Sao Paulo

Dec 1: Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina

Other Sports Stories