Jackson shines with big 100m PB

June 25, 2021

Shericka Jackson sent out a strong warning to her rivals in the women's 100 metres after clocking a personal best time to win her heat at the National Senior Championships inside the National Stadium yesterday.

Jackson, who is the defending National 400m champion, sped to 10.91 seconds to win section three in the event. Her time was well below her previous best of 11.02 and was the fastest of all four quarterfinal heats. Natasha Morrison was second in the event in 11.06 seconds while third went to Shian Hyde in 11.50 seconds as all three women qualified for today's semi-finals.

Olympic 100m champion Elaine Thompson-Herah cruised to an easy 10.96 to comfortably capture heat two and advance to today's semi-finals. Natallia Whyte (11.14) and Shockoria Wallace (11.22) also advanced to the semifinals after finishing second and third, respectively.

A few minutes earlier, freshly minted national record holder Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce also dipped below 11 seconds after she comfortably won heat one in 10.97 seconds. Shashalee Forbes (11.13) and Ramona Burchell (11.14) also moved into the semi-finals after finishing second and third, respectively, behind Fraser-Pryce.

Impressive form

World Under-20 double sprint champion Briana Williams was also in impressive form after booking her spot in the semi-finals with 11.00 clocking to win heat four. Kemba Nelson was second in 11.05, while third went to Kevona Davis in 11.19.

Yohan Blake, the 2011 World 100m champion, recorded the fastest time of 10.03 seconds to win heat two in the men's 100m. Oshane Bailey was second in 10.26, while third went to Jelani Walker in 10.32.

Devonte Burnett holds the second fastest time of 10.05 going into today's semi-finals after comfortably winning his heat. Julian Forte (10.08), Oblique Seville (10.08), Tyquendo Tracey (10.13) and Nigel Ellis (10.13) are the other main qualifiers for today's semi-finals.

Edwin Allen High's outstanding sprinter Tina Clayton clocked a personal best time of 11.25 to win the girls under-20 100m final. Hydel's Kerrica Hill was second in the event also in a personal best time of 11.43 while third went to Tina's sister Tia in 11.60.

Serena Cole, also of Edwin Allen, won the girls Under-18 event in a personal best 11.42.

Alrick Cranston from St Elizabeth Technical won the boys under-18 100m in personal best 10.37 in front of Kingston College's Bouwahjgie Nkrumiehjgie also in a personal best time of 10.47. Orlando Wint of St Elizabeth was third in 10.55.

Sandrey Davidson of St Catherine won the boys under-20 100m in personal best 10.43.

Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Jaheel Hyde clocked a season's best time of 49.14 seconds to lead all qualifiers in today's final of the men's 400m hurdles event.

Hyde won heat two comfortably ahead of defending champion Kemar Mowatt (50.50) while Troy Whyte (50.83) was third. Andre Clarke will enter today's final with the second fastest time, this after he won heat two in a season's best 49.38.

Shawn Rowe also advanced to the final after ending second in the event in 49.57 while third went to Malik James-King in a season's best 50.18 . The other qualifiers for today's final are, Roxroy Cato (50.26) and Owanye Russell (50.48).

The women's equivalent will be run as a straight final today. Those entered are Janieve Russell, Kimisha Chambers, Shiann Salmon, Nikita Tracey, Lashanna Graham, Ronda Whyte, Leah Nugent and Devika Thangarasa.

Other Sports Stories