T&T, St Vincent to host remaining CWI Rising Star Championships

May 12, 2023
Jimmy Adams
Jimmy Adams

Trinidad and Tobago and St Vincent are set to host the remaining Cricket West Indies (CWI) West Indies Rising Stars age-group Championships after the Men's Under-15 Championship in Antigua last month.

The competitions, aimed at developing youth cricket skills in the Caribbean, will be in the form of the Women's Rising Stars Under-19, Men's Rising Stars Under-17 and Men's Rising Stars Under-19 Championships.

Trinidad and Tobago will host both the Women's Under-19 Championships, scheduled for July 2-16, and the Men's Under-17, August 10 to September 1.

The Women's Under-19 Championship consists of six rounds of 30-over matches, while the Men's Under-17 Championship will feature five rounds of 50-over matches and for the first time, three rounds of two-day red-ball matches.

St Vincent will host the Men's Under-19 Championship.

This competition will have five rounds of 50-over white-ball matches and four rounds of three-day red-ball matches.

CWI's Director of Cricket, Jimmy Adams, spoke of the importance of the West Indies Rising Stars Championships and age group cricket across the region and how essential they are to develop the next generation of young talent in the West Indies.

"These age group tournaments are of paramount importance, and we want to ensure the players get maximum opportunities and exposure. Many of our current and former international players have graduated from these tournaments, and we continue to see this as the 'nursery' for West Indies cricket," Adams said.

"With over 250 teenagers due to participate in these championships, this is the ideal platform for them to launch their careers, and the tournaments will allow for ongoing talent identification and development of our best young players."

Other Sports Stories