Eye Opener rhythm takes flight


February 26, 2016
Contributed Erup

The 'Eye Opener' rhythm is the latest project from the Kaeczar Music Group label.

The project features seven tracks, mostly from artistes associated with the Washington DC-based production entity.

Kevin Stewart, CEO, explained the inspiration behind the project. "The inspiration behind the rhythm came out of a need to remind consumers of reggae/dancehall that there are artistes and songs outside of the so-called mainstream, to open their eyes to the abundance of hard-working artiste, and put the lie to the thinking that dancehall is chronically stagnant," he said.

The artistes featured are Adeeno (with his song Up Back; Cyba with Lock Off; Epsword with One More; Love Spell by Erup; Money Mission by Gal-X; Don't Do It by Kimo Jeepaz; and More the Merrier by Vybrant.

The songs were mixed and mastered by Xtreme from Cash Flow studios in St Andrew.

Stewart said it was a strategic move to have featured mostly new and up-and-coming acts.

"'With the way how the dancehall/reggae genre is now structured, where people tend to buy artiste, as opposed to song, we are trying to get it back to where it is about the music again. When that happens fresh talent will always have a more level playing field in a somewhat saturated industry," he said.

Erup is working with the label for the release of his forthcoming EP and a supporting tour this summer.

With a combined 35 years in the music industry, the players behind Kaeczar Music Group have worked in various capacities. The label itself came to fruition in 2014.

It's previous projects include the 'Eastbound' rhythm which features songs from Konshens and Erup.

'Eye Opener' will be available for pre-order on iTunes and Google Play today.

Other Entertainment Stories