Diamond League finals to feature revised system


August 19, 2017
Ricardo Makyn/Multi Media Photo Editor IAAF World Championships London 2017 Womens 200m final with Dafne Schippers (left), Shaunae Miller (centre) and Marie-Jose Ta Lou.
@Normal:Elaine Thompson of Jamaica crosses the line in 5th in the Women's 100m final at the IAAF World Championships in London, England, on Sunday. Thompson was the 2016 100m Diamond League winner.

The IAAF Diamond League Finals will be held according to the revised system for the first time this year. The best athletes of the current season qualified for the final based upon points acquired at the 12 preceding Diamond League meetings. The winning prize money of US$100,000 will be awarded in each event with individual event champions collecting $50,000.

"The new system enhances the status of our meeting even further, and it provides for added suspense and drama, as the points collected at the qualifying meetings have no influence on the outcome of the finals. Everyone starts at zero," said Andreas Hediger, Weltklasse Zurich Co-Meeting Director.

ideal forum

Hediger also noted: "All 16 final events feature the new World champions of London. The IAAF Diamond League thus also proves to be an ideal forum to get to the top of one's game for major championships."

The winners of the World Championships who will also feature in the Diamond League are Dafne Schippers (200m); Caster Semenya, (800m); Sally Pearson (100m hurdles); Emma Coburn (3000m SC);

Yulimar Rojas (triple jump); Lijiao Gong (shot put); Barbora Spotakova (javelin throw); Justin Gatlin (100m); Wayde van Niekerk (400m); Elijah Motonei Manangoi (1500m); Muktar Edris (5000m); Karsten Warholm (400m hurdles); Mutaz Essa Barshim (high jump); Sam Kendricks (pole vault); Luvo Manyonga (long jump), and Johannes Vetter (javelin throw).

Other Sports Stories