Gayle oozing confidence ahead of JAAA elections

November 27, 2020
Garth Gayle
Garth Gayle

With the closure of nomination on Wednesday for the Jamaica Athletics Administration Association's elections (JAAA), Garth Gayle is very confident he will be the next president of the local athletics association.

The principal of Charlemont High School is also confident that two other members on his slate will succeed as well.

The man who has served as Honorary Secretary under three Presidents believes his experience will carry him through.

"I am very confident of victory next Saturday because I think my experience in the Association and the volume of work I have done over these years has spoken for itself and I have no doubt that I will be victorious next Saturday."." I am also confident that Marie (Tavares) and Leroy (Cooke) will be elected, " he said.

In a recent TVJ interview Gayle's challenger , Donald Quarrie cried foul over the voters list . His argument was that the contact of the voters were not made available on the list.

Rubbished the claim

However Gayle has rubbished the claim by Quarrie." This has never happened before as we do not give numbers of our members in public. We have gone the route of the constitution and this has never been done," Gayle said. He pointed out also stated that an advertisement was placed in the electronic media inviting all members to pay up their fees before September 30th. "If members did not do this they will not be able to vote and we are going by the letter of the law and we cannot hold responsibility for those who did not do so and we are on solid ground," he concluded.

Following the closing of nominations on Wednesday, most of the members of the present executive will be back including all four Vice Presidents while World Championships silver medallist, Fredrick Dacres is one of three new members who has been named as Committee member candidate.

Gayle's Slate

President- Garth Gayle

First Vice President- Ian Forbes

Second Vice President- Lincoln Eatmon

Third Vice President- Michael Frater

Fourth Vice President- Vilma Charlton

Honorary Secretary- Marie Tavares

Assistant Secretary- Brian Smith

Treasurer- LudlowWatts

Director of Records- Leroy Cooke


Keith Wellington

Heleen Francis

Julette Parkes Livermore

Ewan Scott

Judith Ewart

Fredrick Dacres

Dr Carl Bruce

Gregory Hamilton

Other Sports Stories