New champions crowned in Serge Island Chess Championships


May 07, 2016
Contributed Kishan Clarke

When the dust settled after six rounds and two weekends of exciting play, all sections of the Serge Island National Age Group Chess Championships produced new champions.

Winning in the Under-8 Absolute section was Cameron Coe of Hillel Academy with a perfect score of six points. Zaina O'Connor won the girls equivalent.

Daren McKennis of St. Andrew Preparatory topped the Under-10 section with six points in a battle with Kishan Clarke of Hillel.

Amy Stephenson claimed the female category with four points.

Other winners were Angelus McDonald of St. Catherine Primary, Raehanna Brown from Immaculate Prep, Rushawn White of Ardenne High, Akeem Brown of St. Jago High, ly Adani Clarke also of St. Jago, Malik Curriah and Alliyah Yankana.

The top High School was St. Jago High and the top Primary/Prep School was Hillel Academy. The best coaches were Mikhail Solomon and Ryan Blackwood.

Other Sports Stories