Big three to face Racers starter

May 26, 2016
From left - Leon Mitchell, Assistant General Manager, Jamaica National Building Society, Powell (2nd left), Senior Sponsorship and Development Manager at the Digicel Group, Glen Mills, President of the Racers Track Club, and Andrei Roper. Contributed

The men's 100 metres takes centre-stage at the first ever Racers Grand Prix athletics meet, set for the National Stadium on June 11.

The meet was launched at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel yesterday and organisers promised a plethora of world stars.

The men's 100m promises to be a monster clash, boasting a line-up that can rival any major track and field meet across the globe.

Three of the nation's most popular sprinters, back-to-back double Olympic and world champion, Usain Bolt; former world 100m champion, Yohan Blake, along with the man with the most sub-10 100m in history, Asafa Powell, will feature in the blue riband race.

"Judging from what has been happening, they are all rounding into top shape and I assure it is going to be thrilling, exciting, and very fast race," Racers coach Glen Mills said.

Also in the race are 2015 World Student Games 100m winner, Akani Simbine, Nickel Ashmeade, Jason Livermore and Ramon Gittens of Barbados.

"We are trying to encourage our Caribbean athletes. So we cater to our Caribbean neighbours," Mills added.

The female sprint event also boast an impressive line up with sprint queen, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce the headliner.

She will take on world indoor champion, Barbara Pierre, Carmelita Jeter, Remona Burchell, Natasha Morrison, Michelle-Lee Ahye and Kelly-Ann Baptiste.

Warren Weir, Rasheed Dwyer, Alando Edward, Miguel Francis, Zharnel Hughes and Wallace Spearmon make up an exciting 200m men's field.

For the women's equivalent Tori Bowie (fastest 100m time this year) and Bahamas star Shaunae Miller will feature.

Racers Grand Prix has partnered with a number of world renowned sports providers including ESPN and Eurosport to bring the meet to Brazil, France, USA, Middle East, Romania, South Africa and Mexico.

Other Sports Stories