Uncapped Barbadian named to face India


July 12, 2016
File Roston Chase

ST JOHN?S, Antigua (CMC):

Barbadian batsman Roston Chase has been called up to Test duty but selectors have confirmed the axing of wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin and have also overlooked left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican.

The right-handed Chase, who scored heavily for Barbados Pride in the regional first class this year, was the only uncapped player named in the 12-man squad announced for the upcoming four-Test series against India starting July 21.

As expected, all-rounder Jason Holder will lead the side which includes veteran Marlon Samuel and vice-captain and opener Kraigg Brathwaite.

Chase, meanwhile, forced his way into the selection frame when he amassed 710 runs at an average of 59, to be fourth highest run-getter in the recent first-class campaign. He was just one of four players to pass the 700-run mark.

The 24-year-old also got the attention of selectors last year when he pummelled attractive half-centuries in either innings of the three-day President?s XI game against the touring Australians.

Ramdin, who announced his sacking in a Twitter rant last week, has made way for 24-year-old Barbadian gloveman Shane Dowrich, who played two Tests against the Aussies last year June.

He scored a half-century on debut at Windsor Park in Roseau.

New chairman of selectors, Courtney Browne, said going forward, selection would depend on consistency and guided by ?statistical analysis?.

?The selection panel is looking to create a competitive environment where players are fully accountable for their performances, while meeting the standards consistently in each of the three formats of the game,? Browne said.

The first Test bowls off at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground and continues with Tests at Sabina Park from July 30 to August 3; at the Darren Sammy National Cricket Ground from August 9-13 and at Queen?s Park Oval from August 18-22.

SQUAD - Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson and Marlon Samuels.

Other Sports Stories