Samuels, Taylor named West Indies players of the year


July 21, 2016
Marlon Samuels receives his one day international player of the year award from award from West Indies Players Association president, Wavell Hinds.
Chris Gayle
West Indies Players Association players of the year Stafanie Taylor (left) and Marlon Samuels pose with their trophies following Tuesday's awards ceremony in Antigua. Contributed
West Indies Cricket Board president Dave Cameron (left) presents Stafanie Taylor with her dne day womens' player of the year award during the West Indies Cricket Board/West Indies Players Association awards ceremony in Antigua on Tuesday night.

Jamaicans Marlon Samuels and Stafanie Taylor were named the West Indies male and female cricketers of the year at the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB)/West Indies Players' Association (WIPA) awards ceremony in Antigua on Tuesday night.

Taylor won three awards, also securing the women's one day international and T20 Player of the Year.

Samuels was also named one-day Player of the Year in addition to being named Cricketer of the Year.

Tallawahs captain Chris Gayle, who is currently leading the national team in the Caribbean Premier League, was named T20 Player of the Year in absentia.

Other awards which were presented at the Hangar 10 in Antigua were Under-19 team of the Year which went to Guyana; Under-19 Player of the Year, Shimron Hetmyer; first-class Team of the Year, Guyana; 50-over Player of the Year, Jason Mohammed; Four-day Player of the Year, Veerasammy Permaul; Caribbean T20 Player of the Year, Dwayne Bravo; Test Player of the Year, Darren Bravo; Emerging Player of the Year, Jomel Warrican; WICB Lifetime Achievement Award, Clarvis Joseph; and WIPA Lifetime Achievement Award, Ralston Otto.

Other Sports Stories