Joseph added to West Indies squad for second Test


July 28, 2016
File Joseph


The West Indies selectors have added Alzarri Joseph to the squad for the second Test against India at Sabina Park starting on Saturday.

The squad will be led by Jason Holder and includes Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajindra Chandrika, Roston Chase

Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson, and Marlon Samuels.

Commenting on the squad, Courtney Browne, chairman of the West Indies selection panel, said he would like to thank the West Indies Cricket Board for supporting the request to increase the squad to 14 which allowed the selectors to add Joseph.

"We feel that Alzarri, who led the attack so expertly in the International Cricket Council Youth World Cup earlier this year in Bangladesh, will now benefit from the professional guidance of our coaching staff and the presence of fast bowling legend Joel Garner as manager," said Browne.

"As we develop our Test team, we see this as a positive step in the process. We would like to wish the team every success for the rest of the series," he said.

Other Sports Stories