CONCACAF Gold Cup 2017 to be played across 13 metropolitan areas, four cities debut as hosts


December 21, 2016
Jamaica's Rudolph Austin (left) battles with Mexico's Oribe Peralta during the first half of the CONCACAF Gold Cup championship match on Sunday, July 26, 2015, in Philadelphia. (AP Photo)

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced the 13 metropolitan areas that will welcome the 2017 edition of the CONCACAF Gold Cup next July 7-26.

Venues and group stage dates, as well as group assignments for qualified seeded nations - the United States and Mexico - were also announced for next year's 14th edition of the Gold Cup.

The 2017 Gold Cup will feature four first-time hosts: the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas; FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland, Ohio; Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara, California; and Nissan Stadium in Nashville, Tennesse.

Returning in 2017 are 10 previous Gold Cup host venues: AT&T Stadium in Arlington and BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas; Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia; Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, California; Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida; Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey; the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California; Sports Authority Field at Mile High in Denver, Colorado; Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, and University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

"We're excited to bring the Gold Cup to new markets across the country. These cities have all proved ready and eager to host our region's marquee soccer championship, and welcome world-class international soccer next summer," said CONCACAF General Secretary Philippe Moggio.

The dates for Gold Cup matches scheduled for each group stage city were also announced with the United States hosting Group B and Mexico, Group C.

region's qualifiers

Group A will be filled out pending the completion of the tournament field, with the UNCAF Central American Cup set to determine that region's qualifiers in January.

To date, seven of the 12 national teams scheduled to participate have qualified for next year's tournament: Canada, Mexico and the United States from North America, as well as Curacao, French Guiana, Jamaica, and Martinique, from the Caribbean, will compete for the Confederation crown in July.

The top four finishers from January's UNCAF Central American Cup, to be played in Panama, will also qualify.

Three additional Caribbean nations, Haiti, Suriname and Trinidad & Tobago, have qualified for an additional series of matches in January, the winner of which will face off next year in a two-leg playoff against the fifth-place team from the UNCAF Central American Cup to determine the final participant in the 2017 Gold Cup.

2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Host

Cities & Venues

Seeded Nations

Group A - To be determined

Group B - United States

Group C - Mexico

Group Stage Venues & Dates:

July 7, Group A - NY/NJ - Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)

July 8, Group B - Nashville - Nissan Stadium (Nashville, TN)

July 9, Group C - San Diego - Qualcomm Stadium (San Diego, CA)

July 11, Group A - Houston - BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)

July 12, Group B - Tampa Bay - Raymond James Stadium (Tampa, FL)

July 13, Group C - Denver - Sports Authority Field (Denver, CO)

July 14, Group A - Dallas - Toyota Stadium (Frisco, TX)

July 15, Group B - Cleveland - FirstEnergy Stadium (Cleveland, OH)

July 16, Group C - San Antonio - Alamodome (San Antonio, TX)

Other Sports Stories