Seven for Usain, first for Elaine

January 14, 2017
Usain Bolt

Usain Bolt joined Michael McCallum as the most successful male athlete in the history of the RJR Sports Foundation National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards, while Elaine Thompson signed off on a brilliant year with her first hold of the top sportswoman title at last night's glitzy ceremony at The Jamaica Pegasus hotel.

Bolt, who helped himself to three gold medals at the Rio Olympic Games was as expected handed his seventh Sportsman of the Year award, while Thompson's double sprint gold, sprint relay silver, 60m World Indoors bronze and 100m Diamond Race victory earned her a first hold on the prestigious award.

110m hurdles Olympic champion and 60m hurdles World Indoor champion Omar McLeod and swimming star Alia Atkinson, who broke the short course 50m breaststroke world record, equalled the 100m breaststroke world record and won three medals at the World Short Course Swimming Championships were named as runners-up to the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year.


Latest triumph


Bolt was delighted with his latest triumph and left the stage with a message to the youth.

"I am from Trelawny. I never thought I would be on this stage as one of the greatest ever, hard work pays off so if you want to be great, work towards what you want, never give up,"Bolt said.

Thompson was thankful for her win

"Huge thank you to my coach Stephen Francis in motivating and believing in me and for investing his time in me. Thanks to my fans in Jamaica and across the world for their invaluable support," Thompson shared.

Super athletics coach Francis was presented with the Sagicor Iconic Award, while champion trainer Wayne DaCosta was the recipient of the Chairman?s Award.

Other Sports Stories