Shelly finds back rocket start

May 27, 2019
Fraser- Pryce
Fraser- Pryce

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is back. That's the feeling of fans who watched her run 10.97 seconds over 100 metres at the National Stadium on Saturday night. Fraser-Pryce produced a vintage rocket start to catapult to the 43rd sub-11-second clocking of her career at a Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association All Comers Meet where she and her MVP Track Club mates produced the highlights.

With a start that reminded fans of the days when she won three World Championships in the 100m, Fraser-Pryce jetted from the blocks, leaving Central American and Caribbean Games champion Jonielle Smith well behind at 11.41 seconds, to become the first Jamaican to break 11 seconds this season.

The 10.97s is also her best time since her return from maternity as she ran 10.98 seconds last year.

Minutes earlier, her MVP training partner, Elaine Thompson, had cruised through her section of the same event in a season-best time of 11.09 seconds.

Earlier on, 2012 Olympic silver medallist Yohan Blake impressed over 200 metres in 20.43 seconds.

Discus ace Fedrick Dacres was cruising, too, with a winning throw taped at 65.13 metres, well short of his 67.10-metre heave the previous week at Mona. O'Dayne Richards, the 2015 World bronze medallist, pushed the shot put to 20.63 metres.

Dacres' fellow 2018 Commonwealth Games champion, Janieve Russell, and another MVP club member, Jaheel Hyde, opened proceedings in the 400 metres hurdles. Russell separated herself from the other ladies in 56.32 seconds, while Hyde, who has a Commonwealth bronze medal, lowered his 2019 best of 50.15 seconds.


World and Olympic bronze medallist Shericka Jackson of MVP sped away from a good 400-metre field in 51.04 seconds. Her effort distanced her from 2014 Commonwealth champion Stephennie McPherson, 51.90, and the Jamaica Intercollegiate queen, Sade Williams of Barbados, 52.34.

The men's one-lap sprint went to World and Commonwealth finalist Demish Gaye of Sprintec in 45.78 seconds. The women's 100 metres hurdles featured a fierce battle. The 2016 Olympic semi-finalist Megan Tapper zipped away from the start and won in 13.02 seconds, her fastest of the current campaign, but chasing the MVP hurdler hard was 2013 World Under-18 champion Yanique Thompson. At the line, the 2018 Commonwealth third place finisher was just 0.06s behind at 13.08 seconds.

In the first section of the men's 110 metres hurdles, Phillip Lemonious edged 2016 Olympian Deuce Carter 13.92 to 13.93 seconds, and in the last one, former Calabar star Michael O'Hara, now of the Racers Track Club, took the overall title with a time of 13.89 seconds.

Other Sports Stories