A change in direction - Tallawahs add four spinners ahead of CPL 2020

July 07, 2020
Jamaica Tallawahs batsman Glenn Phillips (right) in action against the St Lucia Zouks in the Caribbean Premier League at Sabina Park on Thursday, September 12, 2019.
Jamaica Tallawahs batsman Glenn Phillips (right) in action against the St Lucia Zouks in the Caribbean Premier League at Sabina Park on Thursday, September 12, 2019.

The Jamaica Tallawahs have signed four spin bowlers ahead of the upcoming Caribbean Premier League Twenty20 (T20) season to address issues that caused their last- place finish in 2019.

They are Nepalese leg spinner Sandeep Lamichhane, South African left-arm wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi, Guyanese left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul, and American leg spinner Ryan Persaud.

As was first reported by The Gleaner in May, the Tallawahs have picked up Barbadian all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite, who was the former captain of the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

Pakistan batsman Asif Ali, who made his T20 debut against the Windies in 2018, is one of the new batsmen that has been brought into the set-up after the departure of marquee opener Chris Gayle.

The Tallawahs have also retained some familiar faces in that of New Zealander wicketkeeper-batsman Glenn Phillips, who was the leading run-scorer for the team last season, and Jamaican batsman Andre McCarthy.

Jamaican batsman Javelle Glenn, who was part of the Tallawahs squad last season, has been picked up by the St Lucia Zouks. Another Jamaican, left-arm spinner Dennis Bulli, has been drafted by the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, where he will join compatriots Fabian Allen and Sheldon Cottrell.

Jamaican fast bowler Odean Smith has also been retained by the Guyana Amazon Warriors, with teammate Brandon King.

All the players involved in this year's CPL are expected to fly to Trinidad and Tobago on private charter on August 2, with the players and support staff having to undergo two weeks in quarantine before the tournament, which runs from August 18 to September 10.

CPL 2020 squads


Andre Russell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Carlos Brathwaite

Rovman Powell, Tabraiz Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Oshane Thomas, Asif Ali, Fidel Edwards, Preston McSween, Andre McCarthy, Nicholas Kirton, Jeavor Royal, Nkrumah Bonner, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud


Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, Marcus Stonis, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh Jr, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Justin Greaves, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shayan Jahangir


Imran Tahir, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Green, Qais Ahmad, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Naveen Ul Haq, Chandrapul Hemraj, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmeade Nedd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Jasdeep Singh


Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi, Sheldon Cotterell, Denesh Ramdin, Rayad Emrit, Dennis Bulli, Alzarri Joseph, Joshua De Silva, Dominic Drakes, Colin Archibald, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Sunny Sohal.


Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nabi, Daren Sammy, Colin Ingram, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Anrich Nortje

Chemar Holder, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Noor Ahmad, Kimani Melius, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Javelle Glen, Saad Bin Zafar


Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons

Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Seales, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Muhammad Ali Khan.

Other Sports Stories