JC, STETHS dominate All-Manning, All-daCosta squads

February 05, 2016
Michael Kerr (right)
Alex Marshall

Manning and daCosta Cup champions, Jamaica College and St Elizabeth Technical High School gained five picks apiece on the All-Manning and All-daCosta Cup squads, respectively.

The schools have the most players selected on the squads for the game to be played at a date to be announced by the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association.

Meanwhile, the Old Hope Road-based JC were recognised for winning the Manning Cup and Olivier Shield titles, and were also preliminary round zone winners in addition to taking home the award for the most defensive team.


STETHS were awarded for winning the daCosta Cup trophy, Ben Francis Cup, plus first-round, Inter-Zone and quarter-finals winning trophies.

The awards were handed out at the ceremony held last Wednesday at the Terra Nova Hotel,

Manning Cup runners-up St George's College were the most attacking team with 51 goals, while Manchester High won a similar award for scoring 71 goals in the daCosta Cup.

In the individual awards, Alex Marshall of St George's College scored the most goals (26) in the Manning Cup and Michael Kerr of STETHS scored the most goals (32) in the daCosta Cup.

Marshall also won the Manning Cup Golden Boot award for scoring 16 goals - the most from the Manning Cup second road onwards. Kerr with 20 goals won the Golden Boot in the daCosta Cup.

JC's coach Miguel Coley won the Winning Coach award and Ian Forbes the Manager award in the Manning Cup. In the daCosta Cup, STETHS coach Omar Wedderburn was the Winning Coach and Donald Gittens the Manager award.

All-Manning squad: Allando Brown (Jamaica College), Donovan Segree (JC), Donovan Dawkins (JC), Zeron Sewell (JC), Jamali Waite (JC), Shevon Stewart (St George's College), Gregory Messam (St George's), Alex Marshall (St George's), Akeem Prawl (St George's), Rojay Smith (Wolmer's Boys), Andrew Daley (St Jago), Jahwanhi Hinds (Wolmer's), Geovanni Shorter (Jonathan Grant High), Dale Reid (Hydel High), Stephen Bennett (Hydel), Fabian Grant (Camperdown High), Shemar Jemison (Wolmer's) and Rushane Jemison (Denham Town High).

All-daCosta squad: George Brown (Dinthill Technical High), Nicholas King (Manchester High), Malik Palmer (Clarendon College), Romario English (Dinthill), Neville Morgan (STETHS), Fitzroy Cummings (Lennon High), Seon Watson (Lacovia High), Akiel Brown (Petersfield High), Shawn Genus (STETHS), Travar McCullouch (STETHS), Chris Andrew Dixon (STETHS), Duhaney Williams (Manchester High), Seigel Knight (Clarendon College), Jevaughn Ennis (Glenmuir High), Rodave Murray (Dinthill), Daniel Green (Marcus Garvey Technical), Kevon Lambert (Glenmuir High), Dashane Beckford (Rusea's High), Shawayne Nelson (Lennon High) and Michael Kerr (STETHS).

Other Sports Stories