Portmore, MoBay chase history in Premier League showdown

April 30, 2016
@Normal:MBU's ace striker Dino Williams
Winston Sill / Freelance Photographer Members of Montego Bay United Sports Club are presented with the End-of-Round final trophy last season.
File Powell
Andre Waugh

Promoted Portmore United will hunt a historic sixth hold on the national football league title when they face Montego Bay United FC in the Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL) final at Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall, St James, tomorrow, starting at 4 p.m.

There is doubt surrounding the playing of the game as chairman of MBUFC, Orville Powell said his club is not interested in playing at the time decided by the Professional Football Association of Jamaica (PFAJ).

Powell is holding firm that his team won't play at 4 p.m. "We continue to protest. We are protesting. They (the PFAJ) continue to disrespect people. We are also stakeholders as clubs. I will not take the field on Sunday at 4 p.m. If they don't compromise, we won't compromise," a defiant Powell told STAR Sports on Thursday morning.

However, if the chairman has a change of heart, the game should be a very competitive affair. Having beaten MBUFC three times during the regular season, Portmore hold a psychological advantage heading into the final.

However, MBUFC will be in front of home support and this could work in their favour.


Andre Waugh, technical director of Portmore United said his team are ready and willing to play the opponent in Montego Bay.

"We have beaten them three times this season, but we won't be complacent. We want to go all the way by adding the RSPL title to the regular season trophy we won for ending the season on most points," Waugh said during the RSPL weekly press conference at Red Stripe Hospitality Lounge last Thursday.

The Portmore technical director added that he expects MBUFC to show for the final.

"We expect MoBay to turn up and play, so we will go there to win," he added.

Portmore United's captain Omar Daley will be missing from the final because of an injury, so other players such as Ewan Grandison, Ricardo Morris and Javon East are expected to bring the fight to MBUFC.

MBUFC will seek their second hold on the national title in three season and fourth overall. They will be without the competition's leading goal scorer on 20 goals, who is away in America on loan. Dino Williams, who is on 15 goals, is doubtful due to injury.

However, the Paul 'Tegat' Davis-coached MBUFC team will look to players such as captain Dwayne Ambusley, Allan Ottey, Keniel Kirlew and goalkeeper Jacomena Barrett to lead their victory charge.

The winner will earn the trophy and cash incentive worth $2.5 million, while the runner-up is guaranteed $1.5 million.

The final will be aired on TVJ and SportsMax, and also CNTV in America and Canada.

Other Sports Stories