Montego Bay sweep up at premier league awards ceremony

May 07, 2016
@Normal:Professional Football Association of Jamaica chairman, Don Anderson (second right) presents Montego Bay United captain Dwayne Ambusley with the winning club award at Thursday's awards presentation of the 2015 Red Stripe Premier League at the Courtleigh Auditorium. Also pictured from left are Jamaica Football Federation president Horace Burrell and former Premier League Clubs Association chairman Edward Seaga.<\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n><\n>
Darien Robertson/Freelance Photographer Paul 'Tegat' Davis of Montego Bay United receives the winning coach award during the Red Stirpe Premier League Awards ceremony at Courtleigh Hotel on Thursday.

Montego Bay United Football Club captured most awards at the Professional Football Association of Jamaica (PFAJ)/Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL) presentation ceremony on Thursday night at the Courtleigh Auditorium in New Kingston.

The 2015-16 champions collected the coveted title and winning cash incentive of $2.5 million and 35 medals, while beaten finalist Portmore United walked away with $1.5 million and 25 silver medals.

Last season's champions, Arnett Gardens finished third and were rewarded $1 million and medals, while Humble Lion received $500,000 for third place finish in the 12-team league.

MBU was the best defensive team, top scoring team. Their striker Owayne Gordon received four individual awards. Gordon, who missed the final last Sunday at Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall, received Round Three top striker with 10 goals, the leading goalscorer with 20 goals, the Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Tony Burrowes player personality award.

MBU's Jacomena Barrett won the goalkeeper of the year award for the third consecutive season. Former national player Paul 'Tegat' Davis won the winning coach award and Dwayne Ambusley won the winning captain award.

Portmore United won the regular season award for the team that finished on most points and was also the team with most wins. Junior Flemmings, who is on loan from Tivoli Gardens to MLS club, New York Red Bull, was the Junior Player of the year. MBU's Dino Williams was the Round One top goal scorer on six goals and Cory Burke scored the most goals (6) in Round Two.

Boys' Town FC won the FIFA Fair Play award. The top referee was Valdin Ledgister and top assistant referee was Richard Washington.

Other Sports Stories