Golding promises Arnett Gardens players outstanding salaries

April 25, 2018
@Normal:Renae Lloyd of Arnett Gardens FC brings a ball under control during a Red Stripe Premier League clash with arch-rivals Tivoli Gardens at the Edward Seaga Sports Complex last season.

Newly elected chairman of Arnett Gardens FC Mark Golding said that his players will be paid for their outstanding salaries for the months of January and February.

Golding, who is the member of parliament for South St Andrew, told STAR Sports that the players have been receiving compensation since he intervened in March, but are still owed for the mentioned months.

Golding was officially elected as Arnett Gardens FC chairman last Saturday by 29 players, who showed up for the meeting that was convened by the Kingston and St Andrew Football Association (KSAFA).

The new executive was unopposed.

He said that his team had been running the club for the last month although the previous president, Patrick Roberts, was still in charge. However, Roberts stepped down last Thursday, and Richard Charlie Chaplin' Bennett also exited his role as general manager in February.

That cleared the way for Golding and the new executive to be officially installed.

"Prior to the meeting, my management team has been running the club. We have been doing some work on the facility. The players have been [paid, the back money for January and February are still not paid," he said..

"I told the players that once I am in charge, I would make arrangement for them to be paid. (I told them) once I was comfortable with the management team, I would make arrangement for the team to be paid salaries owed by the previous executive. We made sure that they got their current salaries so they got paid for March and April," he declared.

"We are moving forward and looking to implement programmes and grow the revenue. We will be doing some work on the stadium as well as the Charlie Smith field where we have done some training in the past," he said.

The new Arnett Gardens FC executive body reads: Mark Golding, chairman; Chris Marshall, vice-chairman (with responsibility for infrastructure); Derrick Crooks, vice-chairman (with responsibility for football development); Chris Bicknell, president; Peter Thelwell, general manger; Patrick Rose, treasurer; and Sophia Fraser-Binns, secretary.

Other Sports Stories