Messi, Neymar go for FIFA award


November 22, 2016
File Neymar (left) and Lionel Messi.

ZURICH, Switzerland (AP):

Lionel Messi, Neymar and a Johan Cruyff-style turn from Hal Robson-Kanu are among 10 candidates to win the FIFA Puskas Award for goal of the year.

Messi has been nominated for a curling, left-footed free kick for Argentina against the United States in a Copa America Centenario semi-final match in June.

Neymar turned to volley a right-footed shot from his own looping flick for Barcelona against Villarreal in November 2015. The Brazil forward previously won the 2011 Puskas Award for a goal scored for Santos.

Wales beat heavily favoured Belgium in a European Championship quarterfinal in July, taking the lead when Robson-Kanu created space by misdirecting three defenders with a deft Cruyff turn.

FIFA said an online vote until December 2 will create a shortlist of three goals. A second round of voting will decide the winner at FIFA's annual awards ceremony in Zurich on January 9.

The 10 goals were scored between September 30, 2015 and September 30, 2016.

The other candidates are: Mario Gaspar (for Spain vs England, friendly, November 2015); Marlone (for Corinthians vs Cobresal, Copa Libertadores, April 2016); Daniuska Rodriguez (for Venezuela vs Colombia, South American Women's Under-17 Championship, March 2016); Mohd Faiz Subri (for Penang vs Pahang, Malaysia Super League, February 2016).

Other Sports Stories